Connexion Any questions

Apothicairerie de Saint-Amour

The apothecary at Saint-Amour has an astonishing décor in a 17th-century convent that became a hospital in the 19th century.

Established outside the town walls in 1620, the Capuchin convent housed the monks until 1792.
Between 1819 and 1824, a hospital was built in this former convent. The apothecary, the forerunner of today's pharmacies, moved into the monks' refectory.

This hospital, a major establishment at the time, welcomed patients for over 100 years. Today, this well-preserved and carefully restored building has become a health centre. The original wards and chapel can still be seen.

The apothecary remains as it was in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It is certainly one of the largest apothecaries in the Jura, and indeed in Franche-Comté.

It boasts magnificent wood panelling by a Saint-Amour cabinetmaker, trompe-l'œil decorations, a medallion decorated with flowers and medicinal plants, and a floor of Saint-Amour marble stone.

Take a guided tour of this surprising place, with its herbal furniture and its collection of over 300 jars from different periods (16th, 17th and 19th centuries), including two mysterious jars from the 16th century.

You'll be able to see a wide variety of containers and understand how they were used, including theriac jars, goat's milk jars, pillboxes, cannon jars, glass jars, measuring instruments and instruments for preparing remedies.

The small room where patients were treated contains furniture dating from the 17th and 18th centuries, including a remarkable herbalist's cabinet and a large collection of pewter crockery.

Immerse yourself in the history and traditions of the Saint-Amour hospitals and the workings of an apothecary.

Guided tours are available throughout the year.
Group tours are available by prior arrangement.
School visits and workshops are available by prior arrangement.
Activities (readings, workshops, etc.) are also organised.

New: PASSes to discover the Royal Prisons and the Saint-Amour Apothecary's.

Hours :


During the Festival du Film d'Amour: from 12 to 25 February 2024. Guided tours by prior arrangement from Wednesday to Sunday at 10am. For other periods: please contact the Tourist Office.

Services

The apothecary of Saint-Amour has an amazing décor and a treasure trove in a 17th century convent that became a hospital in the 19th century.

Established outside the city walls in 1620, the Capuchin convent housed the monks until 1792.
Between 1819 and 1824, a hospital was built in this former convent. The apothecary, the forerunner of our pharmacies, moved into the monks' refectory.

This hospital, a large-scale establishment at the time, welcomed patients for more than 100 years. Today, this building, well preserved and carefully restored, has become a health centre. You can still see the original sickrooms and the chapel.

The apothecary remains as it was in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It is certainly one of the largest apothecaries in the Jura and even in Franche-Comté.

It has a magnificent woodwork decoration made by a cabinetmaker from Saint-Amour, trompe l'oeil decorations, a medallion decorated with flowers and medicinal plants, and a floor made of Saint-Amour marble...

During a guided tour, discover this surprising place: its herbalist's furniture and its collection of more than 300 pots from different periods (16th, 17th and 19th century) including two mysterious pots from the 16th century.

Theriac jars, goatskin jars, pillboxes, cannon jars, glass jars, measuring instruments and instruments for preparing remedies... You will be able to observe a wide variety of containers and understand their uses.

The small room, where patients were received, contains furniture dating from the 17th and 18th centuries, including a remarkable herbalist's cabinet and an important collection of pewter tableware.

Immerse yourself in the history of the hospitals of Saint-Amour and the functioning of an apothecary.

Guided tours are offered throughout the year.
For groups, visits are possible on reservation.
Activities (readings, workshops, etc.) are organised.

New: passes to discover the royal prisons, the Caborde and the Chevreaux castle. Please contact the Tourist Office for more information.
Thematic of the place

Guided tour|Thematic Museum

Public price
Base rate - full rate adult : €5.00
Child rate : €2.00
Price with the pass
Base rate - full rate adult : Free
Child rate : Free

Location

Contact

Allée du Souvenir Français
39160 SAINT-AMOUR

03 84 48 76 69
tourisme@ccportedujura.fr
https://tourisme-portedujura.fr